The Department of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering (ETC) was established in the year 2005 with the approval of AICTE and affiliated to Biju Patnaik University of Technology(BPUT), provides an outstanding academic environment complemented by excellent pedagogy of teaching and state-of-the-art modern and up-to-date lab infrastructures.


The Department was started with an intake of 60 undergraduate students. Subsequently the intake was increased to 90 in the year 2006. Finally the intake increase to 120 during the year 2007. The Department started post graduate (M.Tech) course in Electronics and Communication with an annual intake of 18 students from 2012.


The department has 28 number of faculty members for theory as well as lab classes out of whom all theory teachers have M.Tech or Ph.D qualification.


During last three years the faculty members have excelled in research and publications. To their credit the faculty members have 57 numbers of publications in reputed International journals and 54 numbers of National publications.


The students of the department have been encouraged to learn beyond syllabus for enhancing their knowledge through different club activities. These club members are guided by designated members of faculty and meet once in a week to discuss courses and subject domains beyond the university syllabus. These clubs act as excellent platforms for enrichment of skills and knowledge through self learning and “learn with fun”. The students are actively engaged in innovative thinking and ideation on problems, academic challenges and new domains of knowledge through innovation development cell funded by DST.

In our department the following Technical clubs are present:


Name of Technical Club Club Co-ordinators
Nanopedia Club (Nano Club) Prof.(Dr.) Sakuntala Mahapatra, Mr.S.M.Ali
Micron Club(VLSI &Embedded Club) Mrs.Millee Panigrahi, Mrs.Minu Samantaray,

Mr.Lalit Kumar Kanoje

Aadishya Club (Circuit Design Club) Mr.Lalit Kanoje, Ms. Annapurna Pradhan,

Ms.Nibedita Pati

Sigmage Club (Signal & image processing Club) Mr.S.N.Rath, Mr.S.K.Tripathy
Robotrik Club(ROBO Club) Mr.A.K.Pradhan, Ms.M.Rout
HetNet Club (Wireless Communication Club) Mr.S.K.Mohapatra, Mr. Biswa Ranjan Swain
MockNet Club (Mobile Computing Club) Mr.R.Bhojray, Mr.Ramya Ranjan Choudhury


A National MEMS Design Centre has been established at the Department in collaboration with IISc, Bangalore under NPMASS program where students and staff are encouraged to take up research activities in the field of MEMS and Nanotechnology. Some of our students got the scope to publish papers in ISSS conference and COMSOL International conference. This centre has systems loaded with licensed software tools like COMSOL, Intellisuite and Coventorware to pursue research in the field of MEMS and Nanotechnology for M.Tech/B.Tech students as well as faculty members.


The HOD of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering , Dr. Sakuntala Mahapatra was awarded with “Best Teacher’s Award” by ISTE in the year 2014.


Dr. Sakuntala Mahapatra was the PI for a funded project “ Prediction and Control of Plasma Column in a Fusion Reactor Using Hybrid PSO- ANFIS” by Board of Research in Fusion Science & Technology(BRFST) .

Dr. Sakuntala Mahapatra worked as PI in Innovation Promotion Scheme (IPS) sponsored by AICTE, New Delhi (2015-16).

Debaprasad Barad of ETC department has initiated a group named e-Abhiyan with six Netacad Students. This social initiative is taken to develop the rural community carried with the active leading of Trident Group which is promoted by a group of management and technical professionals including NRIs.